Release type: Media Release


Review of Commonwealth workers’ compensation scheme


The Hon Tony Burke MP
Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
Minister for the Arts

Today I am announcing the independent panel that will undertake a comprehensive review of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

The panel – which starts its work today - will be chaired by Ms Justine Ross, with Professor Robin Creyke AO and Mr Gregory Isolani as panel members. The panel brings a range of relevant expertise across workers’ compensation, legal frameworks, claimant experience and government policy.

The SRC Act underpins the Comcare scheme, which has not been reviewed since 2012-13 and has not been subject to major reforms since its 1988 commencement.

The scheme covers over 470,000 people, providing rehabilitation and workers’ compensation arrangements to employees of the Commonwealth Government, the ACT Government, and a number of private corporations.

Workplace Relations Minister Tony Burke said:

“The nature of workplace injuries and illnesses have changed a lot over the last 35 years. This review will tell us what we can do to futureproof the scheme and make sure we’re getting the best outcomes for injured workers.”

The panel will engage with a range of stakeholders to seek their insights and feedback, ensuring that the review reflects the experiences and needs of those directly impacted by the scheme.

While the review is underway, applications to join the scheme will only be considered from companies that are members of a corporate group in which most employees are already covered by the scheme.

Before considering further growth of the scheme, we need to ensure the underpinning legislation is fit for purpose and provides effective support for people who are injured at work.

For more information on how to engage with the review, please visit:  A review of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 - Department of Employment and Workplace Relations, Australian Government (

Panel Bios:

Ms Justine Ross

Ms Ross brings over 20 years’ experience in relevant areas of law to the review. Ms Ross was Chief Executive Officer of the Asbestos Safety and Eradication Agency for five years from 2018 and has extensive public service legal and policy experience including in work health and safety (WHS), workers' compensation and workplace relations. Ms Ross is a former member of Safe Work Australia and the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission.

Professor Robin Creyke AO

Professor Creyke is an Emeritus Professor at the Australian National University and has extensive practical and academic experience in administrative law. Professor Creyke is a former Member of the Administrative Review Council of Australia and a former Senior Member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, and a member of the Expert Advisory Group to Guide Reform to Australia’s System of Administrative Review.

Mr Gregory Isolani

Mr Isolani has extensive experience as a legal representative in personal injury and workers’ compensation matters, including in representing claimants under the Comcare scheme. In 2001, Mr Isolani founded KCI Lawyers, who specialise in military and Commonwealth compensation matters. Mr Isolani has appeared before Senate and Government committees on military and Commonwealth compensation issues.