Release type: Media Release


Appointments to National Construction Industry Forum


The Hon Tony Burke MP
Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
Minister for the Arts

Today I announce the appointment of 12 representatives to the National Construction Industry Forum.

The Forum will constructively and cooperatively tackle issues facing the building and construction sector – with a focus on safety, productivity, skills and training, workplace relations, industry culture, diversity and gender equity.

The National Construction Industry Forum is a direct outcome of the Albanese Labor Government’s Jobs and Skills Summit.

Last year we brought together business, unions and governments to talk about the shared challenges facing our economy – including workplaces in the building and construction industry. 

We agreed to work together, taking a tripartite approach – a principle of equal and shared collaboration between governments, unions and industry – on matters that affect workers and businesses. 

That’s what the National Construction Industry Forum will do.

As a priority the Forum will look at issues around gender equity, particularly the recruitment and retainment of women workers.

I welcome the appointees to their new roles and know that their experience and insights will be invaluable as we work together to address key issues within the industry.


The appointees are:

  • Ms Melissa Adler – Housing Industry Association
  • Ms Irma Beganovic – National Electrical and Communications Association
  • Ms Deborah Coakley – Dexus Funds Management and the Property Council of Australia
  • Mr Brent Crockford – Australian Owned Contractors
  • Mr Jon Davies – Australian Constructors Association
  • Mrs Alison Mirams – Roberts Co.
  • Ms Naomi Brooks – Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union (CFMEU)
  • Mr Tony Callinan, – Australian Workers’ Union (AWU)
  • Mr Steve Murphy – Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union
  • Ms Stacey Schinnerl – Australian Workers’ Union (AWU)
  • Mr Michael Wright – Electrical Trades Union
  • Mr Zach Smith – Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union (CFMEU)